Scout of the Year Program

Annually, The Veterans of Foreign Wars of the United States awards three individuals who are Eagle Scouts, Girl Scouts Gold Award recipients, Venture Summit Award recipients, and Sea Scout Quartermasters who have risn above their peers in exemplifying the qualities of that rank.

$5,000 1st place national scholarship

$3,000 2nd place national scholarship

$1,000 3rd place Scholarsips

To be eligible for the award, the candidate must:

  • Be the recipient of the Eagle Scout Award, Girl Scout Gold Award, Venture Summit Award, or Sea Scout Quartermaster Award.
  • Be a registered, active member of a Boy or Girl Scout Troop, Venturing Crew, or Sea Scout Ship at the time the award was received.
  • Have demonstrated exemplary citizenship in school,in  scouting, and in the community.

Prior National Scout of the Year winners are ineligible.  Applicants still in high school who reach their 18th birthday during the nomination year remain eligible if otherwise qualified.  A scout may enter through only one VFW post.

Deadline for entry to a VFW post is March 1st.

Additional information can be found on the VFW brochure below

VFW Brochure